I’m experiencing a strange sense of déjà vu – is it 1999, or 2010? Because I’m home alone, I’m eating a lot of cheese on toast, drinking cups and cups of coffee, not bothering to do the dishes or tidy up, don’t have anywhere I need to go, stayed up super late and got up mid-morning, and there are large stacks of books on my desk waiting for me to digest the contents and write something…

It’s like the family I acquired in the last decade doesn’t exist anymore, at least for the next few days. Bruno’s parents have taken the kids to the mountains for a few days and Bruno is staying out in Basel all week doing his round of farewell drinks and things before he finally leaves. So I am home alone, procrastinating writing essays. However disconcertingly familiar it feels, I have to remind myself that this situation is merely temporary, and that by Friday we will be back to our usual hectic pace of things to do, places to go etc etc. So I am enjoying every minute of this drifting state of inertia.

